M.A. Thesis Award

Polish Association for American Studies Annual Award
for the Best American Studies Master’s Thesis
Written at a Polish University

The Polish Association for American Studies is inviting submissions for its 11th Annual Best MA Thesis Award. The jury headed by dr hab. Urszula Niewiadomska-Flis and comprising prof. Elżbieta Rokosz-Piejko and dr Grażyna Zygadło will evaluate the submissions and announce the results in late August 2019.

The author of the winning MA thesis will be invited to publish one chapter in the Polish Journal for American Studies.

1. One master’s thesis can be submitted per each 20 students graduating with theses in the field of American Studies in a department/center. This includes both full-time and extramural students. Consequently, a department with 12 such students can submit one entry while a department with 26 such students – 2 entries. In each department MA thesis advisors must develop internal rules for selecting the best thesis.

2. A thesis can only be submitted by the advisor or a committee of academic advisors.

3. Theses written in both English and Polish are eligible.

4. This year’s submission deadline is July 15, 2019. Earlier submissions are welcome.

5. Only candidates who received their MA diploma in the 12 months preceding the PAAS award competition are eligible (i.e. July 15, 2018 – July 15, 2019).

6. Each contest thesis should be sent as two PDF files, named according to the patterns below, to pawel.frelik@gmail.com and to dferens@poczta.onet.pl:

  • a file with the title page identifying the author and the supervisor;
    this file should be named name.surname (center).pdf
    [e.g. Jan.Kowalski (Uniwersytet Gdanski).pdf]
  • a file with only the thesis title on the title page and the full text of the thesis; this file should be named short-title.pdf [e.g. BlackBiography1920s.pdf]
    and fully anonymized, so as not to allow the jury to identify the author and the supervisor; please make sure you have removed the identifying information from the file properties.

Please, do not use Polish diacritics in the file names.

7. The results will be announced in late August 2019 on the PAAS website.

8. Any questions should be directed to Paweł Frelik, pawel.frelik@gmail.com

Go to:

2009 M.A. Thesis Award

2010 M.A. Thesis Award

2011 M.A. Thesis Award

2012 M.A. Thesis Award

2013 M.A. Thesis Award

2014 M.A. Thesis Award

2015 M.A. Thesis Award

2016 M.A. Thesis Award

2017 M.A. Thesis Award

2018 M.A. Thesis Award

2019 M.A. Thesis Award